Buhari orders reopening of land borders

The President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), on Wednesday, ordered the immediate reopening of four land borders.

The Presidency made this known in a tweet today. “President Buhari has directed the immediate opening of four land borders: Seme, Illela, Maigatari, and Mfun,” @NGRPresident tweeted.

Nigeria had in August 2019 closed its land borders to curtail illegal importation of drugs, small arms and agricultural products into country from neighbouring West African nations.

The Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed, had last month hinted on the reopening of the nation’s borders.

Ahmed had said the presidential committee set up on the matter had completed its job and had recommended the reopening of the borders.

The minister, on Wednesday, after a Federal Executive Council meeting, disclosed the reopening of Seme Border in Lagos State, Illela Border in Sokoto State, Maigatari Border in Jigawa State, and Mfun Border in Cross River State.

READ ALSO  US election: Atiku, Peter Obi congratulate Joe Biden on his victory over Trump

According to her, other borders would be reopened before December 31, 2020.

Please follow and like us:

Bustanews T

Next Post

Odu’a plans mechanised agric in Ogun, Ekiti, Osun, Ondo

Wed Dec 16 , 2020
Post Views: 49 The Group Managing Director, Odu’a Investment Company Limited, Adewole Raji, disclosed on Tuesday that the company has begun to support the economy of the six shareholder states of the South-West through investment into their areas of comparative advantages. While property development was projected to be viable in […]
Follow by Email