Court remands eight persons for looting palace in Osun

An Osogbo Magistrates’ Court, on Monday, remanded eight men in prison for looting Akire’s palace.

The accused persons: Akeem Okeowo, 30; Hammed Raifu, 34; Lakin Oyetade, 35; Okeowo Saheed, 29; Ibrahim Musiliu, Ahmed Sunmonu, 25; Kazeem Kamorudeen, 18; and Kolawole Opeyemi, 23.

The suspects were said to have unlawfully assembled themselves and maliciously damaged one Toyota Carina car with Reg. No. AE 451 XXY property of the monarch and one Mazda car property of Chief Falana Muritala, also armed themselves with intent to carry out some common purpose.

Police Prosecutor, Inspector Elisha Olusegun told the court that the accused persons committed the offence October 26, 2020, at about 10:00 am at Akire’s Palace, Ikire.

He informed the court that the accused persons did willfully and unlawfully break and entered into King Olatunde Falabi’s palace and committed felony therein.

The offence committed contrary to and punishable under section 516,414,70 and 451 of the Criminal Code Cap 34 Vol ll Law of Osun state 2002.

READ ALSO  Gunmen kidnap nursing mother, abandon month-old-baby

The accused persons pleaded not guilty to the allegations slammed against them by the police.

While speaking in the court, the Defence Counsel, M.O Oyeyinka applied that the case should be transferred to Magistrate Court Ikire.

In her ruling, Magistrate Modupe Awodele ordered the remand of the accused persons in Ile-Ife Correctional Center.

She, however, ordered the police to refer the duplicate case file to the Directorate of public prosecution for advice and transferred the case to Ikire Magistrate court for mention on December 21, 2020.

Facebook Comments Box
Please follow and like us:

Next Post

Enugu pupils accident: Gov. Ugwuanyi bids farewell, immortalises victims

Mon Nov 9 , 2020
Post Views: 104 Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State, on Monday, joined the Catholic faithful and families of the deceased pupils of Presentation Nursery and Primary School, Awgu, and other victims who lost their lives in a recent fatal road accident in Awgu Local Government Area of the state, to […]
Follow by Email