Nigerian Senate to screen new service chiefs secretly

The Nigerian Senate committees responsible for the oversight of the Nigerian military will start the screening of the newly-appointed service chiefs this week.

The Chairman, Senate Committee on Army, Ali Ndume, who confirmed the development said the service chiefs would be screened behind closed doors.

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, had referred the request of President Muhammadu Buhari for the confirmation of the new service chiefs to the joint committees on Army, Navy and Air Force.

Lawan gave the committees two weeks to carry out their assignment and report to the Senate in plenary.

The appointees for confirmation are: Maj. Gen. Lucky lrabor as Chief of Defence Staff; Maj. Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru (Chief of Army Staff); Rear Admiral Awwal Gambo, (Chief of Naval Staff); and Air Vice Marshal Isiaka Amao as Chief of Air Staff.

They are to replace the former Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

READ ALSO  Nigerian students beg Ogun govt over frequent robbery attacks

Ndume said it was not advisable to screen service chiefs in the open.

He said, “If you do, it means you will be compromising the security of the country especially if there are issues that bother on national security.”

Asked when the military chiefs would be screened, he said, “It will be next week.

“We have been given two weeks, so it will definitely be done next week and we shall keep you informed.”

Please follow and like us:

Bustanews T

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

60% #EndSARS promoters ignorant – Nigerian Minister

Sun Feb 14 , 2021
Post Views: 98 Nigerian Minister of Defence, Major General Bashir Magashi has said over 60 per cent of #EndSARS protesters don’t know why they participated in the demonstrations. The #EndSARS protest recommenced in Lagos on Saturday February 13, 2021 under the aegis of #OccupyLekkiTollGate, with more than 30 protesters, including […]
Follow by Email